Photo: Gilbert Nathaniel via Unsplash


53 pilot cities selected for support on the path to climate neutrality

Yesterday, the 53 selected pilot cities for the NetZeroCities pilot programme were announced, including eight Climate Alliance members. The pilot cities will test new and fast ways out of oil, gas and coal in a two-year programme. In doing so, they will implement systemic and locally designed actions in several areas and test levers of transformation, including governance, finance and policy. The cities are supported by grants worth €32 million. The full list of all pilot cities and their projects is now available online.

The NetZeroCities pilot programme is managed by the Mission Platform of the EU Climate Neutral and Smart Cities Mission (EU Cities Mission). The Cities Mission aims for 112 cities to become climate neutral by 2030.

Read more