Six EU islands publish clean energy transition agendas, putting citizens first

Six European islands have published their clean energy transition agendas, making a firm step towards decarbonising their energy systems with a strong focus on citizen engagement. Selected by the Clean Energy for EU Islands Initiative of the European Commission in February 2019, the Aran Islands (Ireland), the Cres- Lošinj archipelago (Croatia), Culatra (Portugal), La Palma (Spain), Salina (Italy), and Sifnos (Greece) have each developed decarbonisation pathways tailored to their individual needs and assets over the past nine months.

Read more

  • The Aran Islands will install community-owned wind power, retrofit homes, and deploy heat pumps or other renewable energy sources for domestic hot water and space heating
  • The Cres-Lošinj archipelago aims to completely decarbonise its energy system by 2040. This will be done in part through community-owned solar farms.
  • Culatra will work towards 100% renewable energy self-consumption, which will be owned by the local community.
  • La Palma aims for full decarbonisation and self-sufficiency in the energy sector. The island transition team puts a strong focus on building a resilient island energy system, actively involving the more than 100 local associations who committed to supporting the island’s transition.
  • Salina aims to increase public awareness on energy and environment. Salina will decarbonise its power generation plants, switch to 100% electric/hybrid mobility on the Island, increase efficiency in its buildings and decarbonise its maritime transport.
  • Sifnos aims to become 100% renewable and self-sufficient, and has developed a number of pathways the island could follow to achieve this goal. Any installations will be co-owned by the local community and private investors.