Photo: Christian Lue via Unsplash


European Commission unveils Mission Cities: 15 Climate Alliance members among the 100 selected

On 28 April, the European Commission announced the 100 cities selected to participate in the so-called Cities Mission. Of the 100 cities chosen, some 15 are direct members of Climate Alliance members and two are closely associated.

“The green transition is making its way all over Europe right now. But there's always a need for trailblazers, who set themselves even higher goals. These cities are showing us the way to a healthier future,” said Commission President Ursula von der Leyen of the selected cities.

The Cities Mission will receive €360 million in EU funding over the next two years to blaze paths towards climate neutrality by 2030. The 100 selected cities to will now begin to develop plans for climate neutrality across all sectors such as energy, buildings, waste management and transport. In addition to further financing and other opportunities, they will benefit directly from tailor-made advice via a dedicated Mission Platform, run by Climate Alliance’s NetZeroCities project. NetZeroCities will also be making additional opportunities such as twinning programmes available to all cities that applied but were not selected. Some 377 cities from across Europe applied to the Mission Cities call launched in November last year.

Further information