Competition details

Information at a glance

Who can apply?

Climate Alliance members from all across Europe and municipal networks of member cities and towns.

How does the application process work?

  1. Applicants fill in the online application form online by 30 October 2020. Images can be submitted via to communications(at)
  2. Juries from Climate Alliance National Coordination Offices in Austria, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg and Switzerland vote on the applications received. A jury at the European Secretariat will decide on the winners in all other European countries.
  3. Climate Alliance informs Climate Star winners in early 2021.
  4. Further information regarding the award ceremony in 2021 will follow shortly.

According to which criteria will the projects be evaluated?

The guiding principles of Climate Alliance - fair, nature-based, local, resource-saving and diverse - form the basic criteria for the evaluation of all submissions. In addition, we also base our evaluation of the projects on the following questions:

  • How long-term is the project intended to be? Is an impact conceivable or even planned beyond the end of the project?
  • How are citizens involved in the project?
  • Does the project have the power to inspire and motivate other actors to follow suit?
  • How great has the project's media and public resonance been?
  • How creative is the project's approach? Has the project pushed the envelope in any respects?

A municipality's population and the resulting potential reach will be taken into account in the evaluation of each project.

How many projects will be awarded?

15 Climate Stars are awarded to the most successful projects of Climate Alliance members from across Europe. The number of Climate Alliance municipalities in each country will be hereby taken into account. This time, a further Climate Star will also be awarded in the Change the Future special category.