Executive Board

Guiding the network

The Climate Alliance Executive Board represents the network both internally and externally. It consists of up to 13 representatives from various member municipalities spread across Europe as well as a representative of Climate Alliance’s indigenous partner organisation, COICA. Each member is elected by the membership at the annual General Assembly for a two-year term.

Andreas Wolter


Mayor of the City of Cologne, Germany | Board member since 2018


Tine Heyse


Mayor for Environment, Climate, Energy and North-South, City of Ghent, Belgium | Board member since 2014

Harol Rincón Ipuchima


Coordinator for Climate Change and Biodiversity of the COICA | Board member since 2020

Rainer Handlfinger

Board Treasurer

Mayor of Ober-Grafendorf, Austria | Board member since 2013

Robert Leven

Board Secretary

Councillor for the City of Hesperange, Luxembourg | Board member since 2016

Alessandra Filippi

Member of the Board

Executive for environment, agriculture and sustainable mobility, City of Modena, Italy | Board member since 2019

Julie Laernoes

Member of the Board

Vice President of Nantes Métropole, France | Board member since 2014

Xesco Gomar Martín

Member of the Board

Delegate for Environmental Issues, Province of Barcelona, Spain | Board member since 2019

Ronald van Meygaarden

Member of the Board

Mayor of the Municipality of Boxtel, The Netherlands | Board member since 2016

Matthias Nabholz

Member of the Board

Department Head for Environment and Energy of Basel, Switzerland | Board member since 2020


Simone Raskob

Member of the Board

Councillor and Head of the Department for Building and Environment, City of Essen, Germany | Board member since 2015

Eva Schobesberger

Member of the Board

City Councillor of Linz, Austria | Board member since 2010

John Tanner

Member of the Board

Former Lord Mayor of the City of Oxford, United Kingdom | Board member since 2016


Photos: Climate Alliance | COICA (Harol Rincón Ipuchima)