Climate Star 2018 - Diversity in local climate action

Under the motto “Diversity in local climate protection”, Climate Alliance has called on all cities, municipalities, districts and municipal networks in Climate Alliance to apply for a Climate Star for the eighth time.

Climate Alliance cities and municipalities as well as municipal networks could apply for the Climate Star 2018 until 30 March 2018. An international jury evaluated the submitted applications and selected 15 municipal projects. Their contribution clarifies an important part of the overall picture, which is carried out by the Climate Alliance: Europe can rely on strong local partners in Climate Alliance in the field of climate change and energy transition.

The application period is closed.

On 18 October, 15 municipalities from all over Europe will be honoured for their outstanding projects in the fields of energy, mobility, climate justice and adaptation to climate change at a gala in Schloss Grafenegg on invitation of the Federal State of Lower Austria.

Information on the Climate Star Gala for participants (pdf)


Submissions at a glance

Who could submit?
Climate Alliance member municipalities and local authorities from across Europe as well as municipal networks.

What could be submitted?
Running or completed projects and initiatives on topics ranging from energy and mobility to sustainable food and green procurement up to climate justice and climate change adaptation.

Who selected the winners?
A jury comprised of representatives of Climate Alliance National Coordination Offices in Austria, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg and Switzerland as well as representatives of the European Secretariat.

According to which criteria projects have been evaluated?
Sustainability, replication capacity, media impact, innovation, public involvement

How many projects will be awarded?
Fifteen winners representing projects and initiatives of Climate Alliance members from across Europe will receive a Climate Star with an eye to the number of Climate Alliance municipalities in each country.

What size categories are there?
The awards are given in four size categories according to the number of inhabitants.

  • Category 1: local authorities up to 10,000 inhabitants
  • Category 2: local authorities between 10,000 and 100,000 inhabitants
  • Category 3: local authorities with more than 100,000 inhabitants
  • Category 4: associations of local authorities



Angela Hanisch
T. +49 69 717 139 -12