Executive Board

Guiding the network

The Climate Alliance Executive Board represents the network both internally and externally. It consists of up to 13 representatives from various member municipalities spread across Europe as well as a representative of Climate Alliance’s indigenous partner organisation, COICA. Each member is elected by the membership at the annual General Assembly for a two-year term.

Andreas Wolter


Mayor of the City of Cologne, Germany


Tine Heyse


Mayor for Environment, Climate, Energy and North-South, City of Ghent, Belgium

Robinson Lopéz Descanse


Coordinator for Climate Change and Biodiversity of the COICA


Rainer Handlfinger

Board Treasurer

Mayor of Ober-Grafendorf, Austria

Robert Leven

Board Secretary

3rd Juryman of the City of Hesperange, Luxembourg

Giulio Guerzoni

Member of the Board

Councillor for Sport, Youth, Environment, Energy Policy and Civil Services, Civil Protection and Volunteering, Comune di Modena, Italy

Karin Hungerbühler

Member of the Board

Deputy Head of Department of Environment and Energy, City of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Julie Laernoes

Member of the Board

Vice President of Nantes Métropole, France

Ronald van Meygaarden

Member of the Board

Deputy Mayor of the City of Geldermalsen, The Netherlands

Simone Raskob

Member of the Board

Councillor and Head of the Department for Building and Environment, City of Essen, Germany

Eva Schobesberger

Member of the Board

City Councillor of Linz, Austria

John Tanner

Member of the Board

Councillor at Oxford City Council, United Kingdom

Valenti Junyent Torras

Member of the Board

Deputy President of Natural Spaces and Environment at Barcelona Provincial Council and Mayor of Manresa, Spain